No game tonight so lets get bored.

Jose Reyes was airborne, but Jason Varitek had the ball, as Reyes was thrown out by Manny Ramirez trying to score in the fifth inning.

So I was just thinking.  Reyes is going to play through pain.  He is not going to steal a base for at least a month.  We can’t score runs and have no one to drive in runs behind Beltran and Wright.  You see where I am going with this.  What about going with this lineup for a while and see what happens?

Castillo

Murphy

Beltran

Wright

Reyes

Sheff

Church

Castro/Santos

What do you guys think?

17 thoughts on “No game tonight so lets get bored.”

  1. Actually, that’s not a bad idea. Not sure Wright is the quintessential type clean up hitter but he’s raking and other than Sheff, he’s the closest we have right now.

    If Castillo, Murph and Church get out of the slump they’re in and start hitting for average, you might be onto something here…

    I’ll always like Reyes in the lead off spot but if Castillo is actually going to be faster than Reyes for awhile, not a bad idea.

  2. It’s going to take me a little while to wrap my mind around the idea of Reyes as lineup protection for Wright, but I should come around eventually because otherwise there is little to no lineup protection for him.

    I wish I could remember the source, but today I heard someone suggest Murphy as leadoff hitter (it was probably a caller to the FAN). That is more far fetched in my opinion.

  3. I just dont like reyes swing in that situation. He gets under the ball way to many times and just pops it up. If reyes speed is going to be eliminated, i suggest(thinking out of the box)

    Pagan
    Church
    Beltran
    Wright
    Murphy
    Santos/Castro
    Castillo
    Reyes(as #8 if he starts off an inning and gets on, he can be bunted over by the pitcher)

  4. Unrelated (shut down the comments!) Pujols just took out the “I” in the “BIG MAC” sign at new Busch Stadium with his 14th HR.

  5. I would rather see Sheff behind Wright. He does a better job of taking pitches and drawing walks. Reyes still does too much first pitch swinging.

  6. Castillo
    Church
    Beltran
    Wright
    Sheff
    Reyes
    Murphy
    Omir Castro

    The 6 spot is still a good RBI spot and might help Reyes be more of a line drive hitter. Plus, I like Murphy following Reyes.

  7. TA18 I have no idea why your post go straight to spam. I have added you as a user. Let me know if it happens again.

Leave a Reply

